On Oct. 4, 2023, Gov. Gavin Newsom signed SB-616, a bill increasing the amount of paid sick leave employers must provide their workers under the state’s paid sick leave (PSL) law. The new requirements take effect Jan. 1, 2024.
California Paid Sick Leave Requirement
Currently, the main requirements of the California Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act include the following mandates: · 24 hours (three days) per year of PSL to each California employee who has worked for their employer for 30 days;
- Accrual of one hour of PSL for every 30 hours worked. Employers may use an accrual rate that results in 24 hours of leave by the 120th calendar day of employment or in each year or 12-month period. Employers may also front-load the full amount of PSL at the beginning of each year of employment, calendar year or 12-month period;
- Carryover of 48 hours of accrued PSL to the following year; and
- Permitted use of PSL on the 90th day of employment.
The new law expands the PSL requirement to 40 hours (five days) per year. The accrual rate remains the same, at one hour per every 30 hours worked. However, the alternate form of accrual now has an additional requirement that employers provide at least 40 hours of PSL by the 200th calendar day of employment (or in each year or 12-month period). Employers opting to front-load leave must front-load 40 hours of PSL. Caps on PSL carryover and use are also affected by the amendments, with employers now required to allow employees to carry over 80 hours of PSL into the next year. Annual use is capped at 40 hours.
Our team is committed to keeping you informed and being a resource for you. If you have any questions regarding this email or any other compliance matter, please feel free to reach out to us.